The first step is always the hardest one to take. Last May, I made a decision to buy veggies and not let it slowly rot in my fridge.  If you’re like me, you probably don’t have much time to cook food and are too tired to wash dirty dishes.  Here’s a quick recipe that doesn’t take more than an hour.  And by that I mean the prep, cooking, eating and washing!

I took out one chicken breast fillet, romaine lettuce, broccoli and a handful of button mushrooms from my fridge. Unfortunately, I didn’t measure my ingredients when I first started taking photos of these healthy eats so please bear with the estimates.  This recipe serves one.

I slapped a dash of olive oil on my pan and toasted the chicken on it. Then in a pot of boiling water, I dropped some mushrooms for five minutes and broccoli for two. This cooks the veggies but doesn’t kill all the nutrients. On a plate, I prepared the lettuce, and added the broccoli, mushrooms and chicken. I sprinkled some Kikkoman soy sauce for taste.

Healthy Eats facts:

Chicken – is a good source of protein and has less saturated fat compared to beef. Just make sure it’s skinned!

Broccoli – a rich source of vitamin C, K and A

Mushrooms – a good source for vitamin B12

Romaine Lettuce – rich source of vitamin A and K

Source: http://www.whfoods.com/

