Whenever I visit a new country, I like cooking with ingredients that are local and haven’t tried before. I planned to make a fish taco from tilapia but when B and I went to Walmart, we discovered that most of the Tilapia in the States is farm grown (fed dog food according to B), so we decided to grab a pack of frozen wild Cod instead.

The only time I’ve tried Cod was when it was breaded and deep fried and dipped in vinegar and boy is it scrumptious! But it wasn’t a cheat day for me and I was inspired by Giada De Laurentiis’s fish taco recipe from Food.Com, so given the Cod (instead of tilapia), sour cream (instead of creme fraiche) and the short time that I had to prepare this recipe, I decided to make modifications. The salad turned out pretty good so I hope you enjoy this recipe as much as I do! It serves 2 to 3.

Ingredients:

3 cod fillets (about 6 ounces each)
olive oil
salt and pepper
1 cup of arugula, lettuce or spinach leaves (arugula has a pretty sharp taste so try it out first and adjust according to your preference)
1 mango, peeled and flesh cut into 1/2-inch cubes
1/2 cup of finely chopped leeks

For the guacamole dressing:
1 avocado, halved, pitted and flesh cut into 1/2-inch cubes
3 tablespoons olive oil
2 tablespoons fresh lime juice (from about 2 limes)
salt

For the cream:
1/2 cup of low fat sour cream
1/2 teaspoon of wasabi from a tube

I discovered that Cod is more delicate than salmon but it doesn’t fall apart as easily as Flounder. (More on my Flounder flop in another entry.)

Preheat the oven to 350 degrees. Rub salt and pepper on all the Cod fillets and let it stand for 15 minutes. Coat a baking pan with olive oil and bake the cod for around 10 minutes or until the fish flakes. Remove from the pan and let it cool.

For the guacamole dressing, mash the avocado. Mix with the olive oil, fresh lime juice and salt according to your preferred taste. Guacamole is tastier when the ingredients blend and settle, so I would suggest making this a day before you serve it with the salad.

For the cream, simply mix the sour cream and wasabi. I was surprised at how good it tasted!

Plate the arugula, spinach and/or lettuce. Slice the cod into 1 inch pieces and put on top of the the leaves. Spread some guacamole and cream. Add the mango and leeks.

Healthy Eats Facts:
Cod – it’s a low calorie source of protein and good for cardiovascular health
Avocado – rich in vitamin E and K
Mango – improves digestion and lowers cholesterol
Leeks – supports cardiovascular health
Arugula – low calorie and anti-cancer

Sources:
Health Mango
The World’s Healthiest Foods

