One afternoon,  I received a phone call from B, while browsing through a magazine in the Cortland library.  “I forgot that my house keys are with you.  My dad is here, dropping off some veggies before he goes to Philadelphia.”

I was sad that I missed Louie while he was on his way up to roast a pig in Philadelphia for N’s graduation (but more on that in another entry). But I was delighted to receive–

Veggies, veggies, veggies!

Thus, the inspiration for some recipes which I will chronicle in this series.

It’s one of my dreams to own a garden where I can grow organic veggies and fruit. I know that it involves research, experimentation, hard work and well, dirt dirt dirt. But the idea of having food that’s pure and rich in nutrients satisfies my gut.

Laurie's Organic Garden -- another inspiration!

Gardens also remind me of times spent with my Dad. We used to go to White Plains in Manila to buy plants and garden tools. Our La Vista garden was his latest project and I used to help him dig. At one point in time, I helped him transplant a chili bush. I rubbed my eyes after and needed to visit a nearby clinic :-D. (I miss you, Dad! I wish we had photos!)

Which brings me to the lemon or what is more commonly known as the summer squash.

It was my first time to see a lemon squash so I wasn’t sure what it tasted like and how to prepare it. I found a recipe in Food.Com that matched the ingredients we had at home. This recipe serves two.

Ingredients:

1/2 lb peeled and diced lemon squash (no bigger than 1 square inch)
1/2 tablespoon olive oil
1/2 tablespoon pure maple syrup
1/2 teaspoon dried thyme leaves
1/4 teaspoon salt

Preheat oven to 400F (200C). Coat a baking dish with olive oil.

In a medium-size bowl, stir the oil with maple syrup, thyme and salt. Add the squash and toss until evenly coated.

Spread out the squash on the baking dish. Scrape maple mixture from the bottom of the bowl and spread evenly over the squash.

Roast the squash, 25 to 30 minutes, uncovered, at the center of the preheated oven until tender and bottom edges are golden. To ensure a rich, dark-golden glaze on top of the squash, do not turn the squash pieces over or stir during roasting.

Remove from the oven and serve immediately.

Ooohlala! This is one of the best recipes I cooked all summer!

Healthy Eats Facts:
Lemon Squash — rich in antioxidants
Maple Syrup — good for the heart and immune system

Sources:
Food.Com
The World’s Healthiest Foods

