“We all have our time machines. Some take us back, they’re called memories. Some take us forward, they’re called dreams.” — Jeremy Irons

My instinct is to forget.

I’ve been in Mumbai for four days. My fridge is full. I’ve gotten into the groove of cooking and blogging. The new school year awaits.

But my memory is calling. Whispering. Cajoling. And so are the draft documents in my WordPress blog, reminding me, taunting me, pushing me to develop my seed ideas, while wagging it’s finger at me. Preserve. Preserve. Preserve!

But this is a food blog!, I fight back.

It’s also about being healthy and growing. You talked about emotional health in one your entries! You said that it was healthy to remember!

So here I am. Struggling. Wrestling. Trying my best to do the impossible. Describe Freeze one of the most beautiful places on earth. Lewis County.

It starts with B driving. Car ride from Cortland to Croghan. We enter the highway. Route something. I’m not from the U.S. so I never remember.

We pass Syracuse. Exit. Right into what looks like a suburb.

Then the unfolding starts.

Blue skies. Clouds running to greet us.

The perfect vanishing point.

A windmill appears out of nowhere.

Then another one. Another one.

Other ones.

I sigh. Whimper. Unsure of whether to drive through this moment using my naked eye or lens.

I try to do both. B tells me to see with my eyes.

I’ve trekked the Himalayas with my Dad. Taken a camel safari in Jaisalmer. Snorkeled in the coral-filled aquamarine waters of Palawan.

But, well perhaps. This feels a little bit. Like home.

It’s a perfect day.

