Back to work for me means reentering the rat race. It means waking up at four in the morn to finish unfinished tasks and chat with B. It means that students, teachers, school and innovation are at the forefront of my mind. It also means self-care takes a backseat. All you have to do is look at my one month old pedicure and eyebrows in want of threading! (Note to self: visit the parlor next weekend.)

But as I’ve discussed in previous posts, within the limits of my schedule, I would like to continue eating healthy, writing and taking photos. There’s so much learning that occurs while I do this. Besides, hopefully improving in my craft, I’m exploring the WordPress blogoshphere and it’s opened up a whole new world to me, a new dimension that has somehow made life more interesting. I’m thoroughly enjoying reading and listening to the various talents out there and learning from them. I’m learning how to give feedback and encouragement. I’m also convinced that blogging can be used as a valuable tool in 21st century education and it’s something that I’d like to slowly introduce to my school’s interested students and teachers.

So why the diversion into reentering the rat race when I’m supposed to be sharing my broccoli-mushroom curry recipe? It’s because this is a quick recipe. And perhaps I should add a category called quick recipes for those who are always on the run but still want to take care of themselves by cooking 30 minute meals with minimal dish washing.

This recipe serves one and is pretty good with basmati rice.

Ingredients:

1 cup broccoli, sliced
1/2 cup button mushrooms, sliced
1/4 red onion, chopped
4 cloves, chopped
1/2 cup of low fat milk
1 teaspoon of Thai green curry paste
1 tablespoon olive oil

Pour the olive oil into a pan and saute the garlic and onions until the onions are translucent.

Add the milk and Thai green curry paste. In India, I’ve found this curry paste in Nature’s Basket. In Manila, you can get it from Cash and Carry, and in the States, I’ve seen this in the Asian section of Walmart. Stir the curry paste until it dissolves.

First add the mushrooms and cook for around three minutes. Then add the broccoli and cook for two.

Pour the veggies on top of steaming hot basmati rice and it’s all ready to eat! Bon appetit!

