Grilled Tilapia from the Philippines

Tilapia is a popular fish in the Philippines. In high school, after our day ended, I would hang out in my best friend Claire’s home. We devoured deep fried tilapia, which we ate with our hands, dipped into a Silver Swan and Datu Puti mixture as we chased away the saltiness with spoonfuls of hot steaming white rice. We never thought of tilapia as health food. It was the food of the common Filipino. It was the fish we grilled on the beach and ate in sidewalk carinderias, which littered the traffic-filled streets of our metropolis.

Imagine my surprise when years later, as I flipped on my TV to watch Oprah, I saw Dr. Oz, Oprah’s sidekick doctor and expert on health and food, tout tilapia as a miracle fish. According to Livestrong.Com, tilapia is rich high quality protein, low in fat and a good source of vitamins.

Louie, a regular contributor to Healthy Eats, would like to share his Lemon Pepper Tilapia recipe! I really wish WordPress had a virtual taste button so I could try these. Perhaps next time I visit, Louie will grill some of these for me and B, and bake us cheesecake :-D.

From Louie's facebook status update on July 14: Todays menu via the garden and friends. Tomato soup (Thanks Sacha) with Parsley, Sage, Rosemary, and Thyme (Thanks Simon and Garfunkel). Maple Glazed Lemon Squash (Thanks Sacha), Cucumber/Scallion/carrot Salad, grilled Green Squash / Eggplant Sandwich on fresh Sun dried tomato/Parmigiana cheese bread (Thanks Laurie for my French bread pan, I really like it), and lemon pepper grilled talipia (Thanks fish farmers)

This recipe serves 6-8 people.

Ingredients:
8 tilapia fillets
2 lemons
2 tablespoons extra virgin olive oil
fresh dill weed
fresh ground pepper
salt

For the marinade:
Zest and juice 2 lemons. Add the juice to 1 cup of water and the EVOO. Whisk the mixture. Lay the tilapia fillets in a flat pan and add the marinade. Do not cover the pan. Lightly salt and sprinkle dill weed and lemon zest on top of fillets. Grind fresh pepper over fillets. Cover with saran wrap and refrigerate for a couple of hours.

Grilling:
I use disposable grill covers but fish baskets can be used too.

Lightly oil grill basket and lay fillets on it.

Grill for about six minutes, flip basket, and grill for six more.

Serve and devour! Yum!

