Facing Lake Pichola, Udaipur

The Lake Palace in Udaipur looked amazing from a boat passenger’s lens — it is pristine, white, a floating haven amidst the calm of Lake Pichola. Gorgeous to photograph from Jagmandir Island. I sat, walked, roamed and wandered the havelis, my eyes always drawn back to the Lake Palace, with its two thousand rupee entrance fee, a fee I wasn’t willing to pay on my backpacker’s budget. But I didn’t mind. I liked the sitting, the waiting, the dreaming and getting drunk on fresh air, and kaleidoscopic lights reflecting, breaking from the light of the new lens I had just invested in. It was my first time to travel alone and this was India! The litmus test for the brave woman traveler and I was dizzy from my own reverie. I also knew, without a shadow of a doubt, that one day I will visit the Lake Palace in Udaipur. Meanwhile, I savored the anticipation. The waiting.

Lake Palace, Udaipur

Today the sensation is the same. It is the first day of our prayer and fasting, and I am hungry, dizzy, light-headed, and as I read my devotional the words that darted off the page were “be expectant” and somehow, much to my surprise, being expectant, the waiting, it all seems delicious, sweet, like I’m on the verge. And this. This is my moment.

Shiv Niwas Palace Hotel, Udaipur

I am excited, heart beating, expectant and joyous in my wait for the unfolding of 2012, not because of anything I’ll do, not my strength, but because I know God, my God. He loves me and He can do anything. The impossible. I saw Him do it in my life last year. I saw Him do it in so many of my friends’ lives.

I can’t wait. I can’t wait to get out of this boat, lens flushed down lake water. I can’t wait to walk on water. Seeing. Walking.

Into the palace He has set out for me.

