Books are embalmed minds. ~Bovee

Confessions of a former readaholic: As I mentioned in a past blog entry I feel quite disappointed that my attention these days doesn’t allow me to focus on reading beyond school-related articles, which I need for my job, and short blog entries. I can’t even remember when I last read a really good piece of literature that sucked me into another world.

I’ve also gone through other blogs like bluntsbookblog and am now inspired to take on reading lists such as the New York Times 10 Best Books of 2011 and the Guardian’s 1000 Books Everyone Must Read. Not to mention that I’ve also just discovered Flipkart, which has very reasonably priced books, top-rate titles and an efficient payment and delivery system. (I’ll stop gushing! Thank you, S, for recommending this gem of an online bookstore!)

Alas, it’s never too late to start a reading list, so I’m starting with the books I haven’t read on my shelf. This list is in no particular order and I apologize for the outdated titles–

1. HTML, XHTML & CSS for Dummies by Ed Tittel and Jeff Noble
2. The World is Flat by Thomas Friedman
3. Principle-Centered Leadership by Steven Covey
4. The Hunger Games by Suzanne Collins
5. Catching Fire by Suzanne Collins
6. Maximum City by Suketu Mehta
7. The Great Railway Bazaar by Paul Theroux
8. Three Cups of Tea by Greg Mortenson and Oliver Relin

I’m now reading HTML for Dummies and The Hunger Games. I’ve also used the strategy of highlighting important texts and lyrical prose to keep my focus going. I just want to get my reading mojo back!

How about you? Do you have a reading list to share? Do you struggle with reading long texts as much as I do?

