In Manila, I had neighbors who spat on the floor. I had neighbors who littered the garage with fish bones. And I had a neighbors who punctured my car tires with nails propped up on rubber slippers.

So imagine my delight when I met Kiiran! 🙂

I'm so blessed to have a neighbor like her!

Kiiran is God-sent! When I first arrived in Mumbai, she cooked some ultra-healthy Rajasthani meals for me (she’s a nutritionist by profession) and took it upon herself to introduce me to a house-cleaner who would almost daily wipe away the thick film of Goregaon East dust on my floors. Kiiran also drove me to the Gokuldham market to help me buy cooking utensils and rags.

Imagine yourself in a strange country where you can’t speak the language. Kiiran was one of the people who showed me the ins and outs of my neighborhood.

Today we carved time to spend a much awaited lunch together. We headed to the Copper Chimney at the Oberoi Mall to have a melt-in-your-mouth meal!

The Copper Chimney is a Punjabi restaurant with waiters who are friendly and knowledgeable about the restaurant’s menu. Their menu has a selection of meats, kebabs and vegetables. The interior is elegant, modern with distinct Indian touches, and comfortable. The average prices of the food range from 200 to 500 rupees. My only complaint is that they didn’t have chai, something I always crave for when I’m in an Indian restaurant.

This is what we had for lunch–

Murgh Afghani, naan, paneer and mushroom

Melt in your mouth paneer. I'll definitely go back to Copper Chimney just for this!

It was a melt-in-your-mouth lunch! The murgh afghani chicken was juicy and the paneer was soft, cheesy. Perfect.

Thank you, Kiiran, for a wonderful lunch! But more than that, thank you for being a wonderful neighbor! 🙂

