Watch your thoughts, for they become words.
Watch your words, for they become actions.
Watch your actions, for they become habits.
Watch your habits, for they become character.
Watch your character, for it becomes your destiny.–Unknown

I wasn’t sure whether to call this the Mumbai or Maharashtra bucket list, but considering some of the destinations are outside of Mumbai, I’ve decided to broaden my horizons and name my bucket list after the state instead of the city.

But before I embark on my bucket list, I want to take a detour on the topic of blogging. I started this blog in July, hoping to cook and log my healthy eats. I stopped in August because priorities at work demanded more of my attention, then hopped back on the blogging wagon on January 2. I was a wreck in December 2011. I was fat, and full of negativity and resentment. During the holidays, I slept half of the time, recuperating, tapering from twelve to fourteen hour workdays, while watching a haze of Star Trek in between.

But on January 2, in the internet cafe at the Detroit airport, I started to write my first entry for the year. It’s been 24 days and I’m still writing. Right now, it’s not about being perfect in my prose or photography. (Hide the whip, Sacha, hide the whip!) It’s just about being comfortable with writing and taking photos and not feeling pressured to figure out the manual settings of my digicam. It’s about reading other blogs and books and joining the conversation and expressing my appreciation for other people’s work. I’m still figuring out how to navigate the WordPress blogoshpere and feel like I’ve walked into this exciting new world, with diverse voices, ideas and new ways of rendering photographs.

I’m also trying to photograph different aspects of Mumbai every day, which means that I have to get off my soft Goregaon East butt and ride trains to South Mumbai, chase sunrises, and make conversation with strangers. It’s only been 24 days but because I’m on a quest to know my current city and document its complex layers and beauty, I’ve become more positive, more alive, and more in love with Mumbai. I’m hoping that this passion drives me for the next 24 days!

Last Sunday, yes it was a perfect Sunday!, after saying goodbye to Arlene and Annabelle, and fading into a sea of tourists in Colaba, I found myself inside a store, buying this book–

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

Perhaps if I make my bucket list, and commit to visiting the places in my list, I’ll learn a little more about the city I will one day leave behind.

