I’ll be the first one to admit that I’m a workaholic. Now that my head is not buried in work-related documentation, I’m ready to explore Mumbai, the city I’ve been living in for more than a year. I’m ready, excited and feel like I’ve just had an awakening to this beautiful, complex and layered city that has inspired many great novels.

Yesterday, I had a chance to visit the Kala Ghoda Festival. I love Kala Ghoda street, with its art deco buildings. It’s a street that’s full of history and provided a contrasting backdrop to modern installations.

Are you ready to see some of the festival’s thought-provoking artwork?

This caption is the first part of the blurb that accompanied the sculpture: This art piece is made of disposed scrap. It propogates a resource efficient, climate- and eco-friendly way of living, how to explore saving potential, efficient driving and green minded actions. As part of furthering the Think Blue philosophy, Volkswagen associated with Haribaabu Natesaan, an artist who creates art out of scrap.

.

I fell in love with 3R's by Unme's melted bottle sculptures. Their stall is on the road island next to the Jehangir Art Gallery.

"Smoking Kills" was conceptualized by Naresh, Kuldeep, Mayura and Meenal. The purpose behind this sculpture is to create awareness on how harmful smoking is.

I loved the vibe of the Kala Ghoda festival. I’m so ready to go back and catch a play or film or workshop in the coming days!

For more information on the Kala Ghoda festival check out their website.

