Have you ever been through a situation that was too painful to face? Painful enough to make you want to stay in bed, hide away from the sun. Blinds closed. Eyes closed. Hands gripping the comforter over your head. You want to fall into a coma. Remain unconscious. Because there is nothing to get up for. There is nothing in you, no cell in your body, that wants to live because there is nothing to live for. Important relationships are severed. Your dreams are dead. You are weak. Defeated. Flatlined.

I have just read David Bonifacio’s blog entry, written to a fictitious/future daughter to help her remember who she is in Christ. Today he is helping her remember that You Are Strong. It reminded me about the season when I flatlined.

They say that every season has a blessing. I can now look back and see the blessing of not having anyone to talk to and completely lean on. It meant that God was the only one I could lean on 100% of the time. He was the only one who could completely comfort me. Yes, family and friends were there to offer prayers and words of comfort. Their kinds words and encouragement were priceless. But they couldn’t be there for me all the time. They have lives and challenges of their own. They couldn’t save me from wanting to fall into the pit of darkness and self-pity. At the end of the day, through sleepless nights and sunny days when all I wanted to do was hide in the dark, the only one I had–completely, totally, utterly–was Christ. His presence dominated my life and literally lifted me out of my emotional pit.

I would read His Words over and over again. Claim them. Speak them in the first person. Until they penetrated my stone heart. And slowly, ever so slowly, His words began breathing life into me again.

Here are some of those words He spoke to breathe life into my heart and the verses that they are based on–

I can do everything through Christ who gives me strength. (Philippians 4:13)

Where I am weak and I cannot do anything about my feelings or situation, You are strong. All I have to do is surrender everything to You. (2 Corinthians 12:10)

The Lord is fighting for me. The only thing I have to do is be silent. So don’t say a word. Shut up and let His Spirit do the work. (Exodus 14:14)

God is now healing me and binding my emotional wounds. I can literally picture this happening. (Psalm 147:3)

The Lord has only the best plans for me. I want God’s best. Nothing else. He’s my Heavenly Father and He’s working out my future and giving me hope. (Jeremiah 29:11)

If you find that you’ve flatlined, pray. Read His Word. Listen to Him with your mind and your heart. He loves you. Where you are weak, He is strong. And know in your heart, that this is the season when all He wants is to be first in your life. No one else. Nothing else.

